Ready or Not, Here I Come

I got to a point in my career where I wanted more. I wanted to make a difference and was not satisfied with the status quo.  I felt I had a good grasp on my job and was ready to take on more responsibility. The only problem was I was in a race with 600,000 other employees, some of whom felt the same way.

My answer was to do something the other 600,000 were not doing.  For me, it was going back to school to get my Masters in Business Administration.  I wanted to set myself apart from the rest of the pack.  I didn’t want to be Bert employee # 349,999.

A year after going back to school, I got a promotion.  I urge you to be proactive in your careers. Take the next step although it may be an uncomfortable one. As the old adage goes, it is the difficult things we do that make us better. Do something extra that you wouldn’t normally do and test yourself. I truly believe that great achievements are born out of extraordinary efforts.

What I have learned from this is that we can’t wait around.  Don’t stand still and wait for your boss or the company you work for to decide if you are ready. Take the initiative and make that plunge. Create value in yourself that can’t be ignored by anyone. Make yourself ready for the opportunity and the opportunity will be more likely to present itself.

About Bert Somsinsawasdi

Welcome to my blogs. I hope you find the information helpful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ready or Not, Here I Come

  1. Bert,
    This is a great post! It is so important for us to do things on a daily basis that will increase our value. If we don’t increase our value, we are falling behind the competition. As they say, you are either moving forward or backwards and you can’t stand still. Thanks, Brandon

    • Thank you for reading this post Brandon. I think it important to constantly evaluate ourselves and make sure we are where we went to be. If not, we need to assess what needs to be done to get there. Thanks again, Bert

Leave a Reply

